top of page

Taking the issues of youth loneliness to Parliament

Produced and written for UK Youth on 6th June 2023

Molly and Finty outside Parliament.



Our fantastic Belong Collective Young Leaders, Molly Taylor and Finty Royle, were invited along to the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Tackling Loneliness and Connected Communities on Wednesday 17th May, to talk about youth loneliness as part of Mental Health Awareness Week.



We caught up with them both about their trip to Parliament:

Firstly, tell us a bit about yourselves and your work with the


Belong Collective? Molly: Hi! I’m Molly, and I consider myself a serial volunteer because I’ve been volunteering for 10 years for a variety of causes including human rights, children’s rights, education, and loneliness! By chance, I discovered Belong Collective on the British Youth Council website… I felt extremely isolated for months, lacked social confidence, and withdrew from everyone around me. I had no idea it was loneliness. Thankfully, I was able to join the Belong Collective in February 2022; it not only allows me to use my v


oice, lived experience, and meet amazing other young people, but it has also saved my life.

Finty: My name is Finty, and I am currently a second year medical student. I am deeply passionate about making a difference in the lives of young individuals who experience loneliness. That’s why I joined the Belong Collective — an organisation focused on influencing policy and providing support to practitioners in their efforts to combat loneliness among young people. Being on the autism spectrum, I ha


ve personally experienced the challenges of feeling like an outsider and grappling with profound feelings of loneliness. This personal connection has fuelled my determination to contribute to the collective’s mission and bring about positive change in this area.

What is the APPG on Tackling Loneliness and Connected Communities and what was your role at the event? Finty: One aspect of my involvement with the Belong Collective that has been incredibly fulfilling is the opportunity to engage with influential fi


gures such as Members of Parliament (MPs), decision-makers, and professionals working in the field of youth loneliness. Last week we had the opportunity to attend the APPG. Molly: The APPG on Tackling Loneliness and Connected Communities, co-chaired by Tracey Crouch MP, Co-Chair of APPG on Tackling Loneliness and Connected Communities, and in the presence of Stuart Andrew MP, Minister for Loneliness, brought together a crowded room of people passionate about tackling loneliness. I wasn’t expecting an audience, but it felt good to know that we all had the same goal of li


stening, learning, and lowering loneliness in young people. Given that this was my first APPG, I was delighted to be a young panellist alongside the incredible Georgia Toman, a young leader at the Mental Health Foundation. I was nervous at first, but when I realised, I was there on behalf of over 1.5 million young people who experience chronic loneliness, I knew I had to be brave and raise awareness about how damaging loneliness can be in young people’s lives, as well as reaffirm the call for action. Georgia and I were given the opportunity to speak about our own experiences, which was followed by an open question and answer session with the audience. It was exciting to be able to respond to the audience while remaining confident in our lived experiences and policy work! This was probably one of the first times I felt like I had made a direct contributi


on to national government policy, which gave me an immense feeling of autonomy and self-confidence. How did you find talking to politicians and decision-makers about youth loneliness? Finty: Meeting MPs at the APPG and witnessing their genuine commitment to addressing the issue of loneliness among young individual


s was particularly uplifting. It is all too easy to become disheartened by negative news and feel that no progress is being made. However, seeing first-hand the dedication and passion of these policymakers as well as willingness to listen to young people has instilled a sense of hope for the future of this sector in me. It reassures me that our collective efforts are being heard and that positive change is possible. Molly: All of the MPs demonstrated compassion and commitment and it was fantastic to hear about their current work on loneliness, which we don’t hear about often enough! Talking face-to-face about my loneliness w


ith the ministers in particular was empowering to me because I felt that my voice was being heard and, more importantly, listened to. Real change comes from carefully listening to young people and their experiences… On the day of the APPG, I experienced that.

What was the highlight of the event for


you? Molly: Observing how many people were crammed into a small space to hear about loneliness and how we can combat it—together—was for me the event’s most memorable moment. One attendee questioned about the evidence of loneliness, and I was able to respond with the “We Choose To Be Here” report. At the conclusion of the session, he approached me curiously and said


that he had travelled from Yorkshire especially for this event! Finty: Reflecting on the event, I would say that the highlight for me was the opportunity to visit the Houses of Parliament. Having only ever seen this iconic institution on television, stepping inside its historic walls was quite amazing. This experience further emphasised the importance of raising awareness about youth loneliness at the highest levels of governance and inspired me to continue my ad


vocacy work.

What would you like to see next? Finty: Something I would really like to see in the future is a comprehensive resource, designed to help ind


ividuals construct an emotional toolkit to combat loneliness, would significantly benefit many people in need. By equipping individuals with the necessary tools and strategies, we can make a positive im


pact on their well-being and give everyone a sense of connection and belonging. I am really excited to continue my involvement with the Belong Collective as it has not only allowed me to contribute to a cause close to my heart but has also provided me with invaluable experiences and connections.

Molly: In my speech, I reiterated three ideas that I feel should not only happen but also need to. While there wa


s a loneliness engagement fund in 2021 that provided grants to organisations tackling loneliness, there needs to be a more sustainable fund and more signposting of the impact of these grants. First, there needs to be more awareness of loneliness, including signposting on mental health outlets and reducing the stigma. Second, there needs to be more funding for youth organisations that do crucial work with young people to help them combat loneliness. Finally, I feel we need a national helpline for young people specifically facing loneliness because I once contacted 10 mental health helplines in one night and either got no response or a the helpline wasn’t prepared for tackling loneliness.



Molly and Tracey Couch MP at an APPG on Tackling Loneliness in May 2023

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page