top of page

International Youth Day 2022 at 10 Downing Street

International youth day celebrations: Molly Taylor shares her experience at Downing Street!


“Being a young person from a low-income background made it challenging for me to dream, but it was even more challenging to recognise my capacity to do so.


If I had to look back on my time at Downing Street, 10 Downing Street wouldn’t have been the primary focus. Listening and getting to know the incredible other young people there, whom I had never met before, were the highlights. They helped me see the world differently and taught me that you must follow your dreams if you want to succeed.


But it wasn’t even about success, it was about using their lived experience to prevent and help others from experiencing the same. I realised at that point that I had earned my place there because I had also experienced it and had been devoting my time to addressing it. So, if you’re working toward a dream, keep going; it doesn’t matter if it succeeds; what matters is that you’re working toward it.”


That was written a year ago, wow.


I can't believe it has been a year since I had the incredible opportunity to visit 10 Downing Street—an experience I never thought possible. Even now, it feels like a dream, so surreal and awe-inspiring. However, what made this experience truly unforgettable was not just being in a prestigious building with a rich history, surrounded by the elite, but the overwhelming sense of community that enveloped me.


Alongside over 100 other young people, all recipients of the prestigious Diana Award, I felt deeply inspired. Despite our awards and titles, we were all just human beings, sharing laughter and giggles as we walked through the Prime Minister's home. The feeling of disbelief and being out of place faded away as we resonated with one another. In that moment, we formed a strong connection—a shared experience that transcended our individual achievements. It was this sense of togetherness that made the visit truly special and unforgettable.


Since that unforgettable visit, I have experienced tremendous personal growth and encountered even more incredible opportunities. The journey I've been on is beyond what I could have ever imagined. It still feels surreal, and sometimes I can't believe that I'm actually able to do these extraordinary things. Looking back at my younger self, I can't help but feel a profound sense of pride. The progress I've made and the achievements I've unlocked fill me with gratitude and an overwhelming sense of joy. The journey continues, and I'm excited to see what the future holds.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page